1,000 Dreams Fund x HARMAN are excited to announce our 2020 New Face of Tech Scholarship Winners!

It was a fourth and FABULOUS year for our New Face of Tech Scholarship Program in partnership with tech giant HARMAN. We are so pumped about all the amazing, talented young women we get to celebrate and support — especially in a year like 2020, where students have been facing unprecedented hardships as a result of the pandemic.

A quick recap: The New Face of Tech Scholarship Program is intended to fund and fuel the aspirations of talented female college students pursuing careers in S.T.E.A.M. (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Math). This year the prize package was designed to be life-changing. We awarded 40 winners with:

  • $1,500 grants
  • Career coaching sessions with HARMAN executives
  • JBL product

Now that our five-week New Face of Tech Challenge is over, we have our final 40 winners RIGHT HERE — women from across the country who are pursuing their tech dreams in awesome ways. Let’s not forget… last year, we honored 15 winners. So we were thrilled to be able to nearly triple that number this year with HARMAN’s support.

Without further ado, let’s meet our 2020 New Face of Tech Winners:

Abby Ruby – Simpson College, Health Services Leadership and Business Management

Adeola Adesoba – University of Arkansas-Little Rock, Information Science/Quality

Aishwarya R. – University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Alexandra F. – Loyola University Maryland, Computer Science

Alice Getmanchuk – University of Illinois – Urbana-Champaign, Computer Engineering and Business

Anara Myrzabekova – University of California-Berkeley, Data Science

Anjali Dhayagude – Purdue University, Industrial Engineering and Design/Innovation

AnMei Little – Yale University, Biomedical Engineering

Aparna Rajesh – Stevens Institute of Technology, Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning

Chris H. – The College of New Jersey, Computer Engineering

Claire C. – Harvey Mudd College, Mathematics and Computer Science

Emily Szabo – Case Western Reserve University, Mechanical Engineering

Francisca Li – University of Texas at Dallas, Information Technology and Systems

Glory O. – East Tennessee State University, Public Health Management

Hemlata S. – Bryn Mawr College, Mathematics and Computer Science

Julie Wang – Washington University in St. Louis, Marketing, Design, and Human-Computer Interaction

Kaina Lisibach – Babson College, Business Administration and Management

Kaitlyn Y. – Purdue University, Electrical Engineering

Kayla T. – University of Nevada – Las Vegas, Public Health and Neuroscience

Khanh M. – Creighton University, Pharmacy

Kimberly Do – Georgia Institute of Technology, Computer Science and Industrial Design

Lexie C. – University of Central Florida, Information Technology and Cybersecurity

Melody Geiger – University of Texas at Austin, Arts and Entertainment Technology and Spanish, with Elements of Computing certificate

Mikayla Tillery – Stanford University, Policy and Computer Science

Minolta N. – Bryn Mawr College, Computer Science and Economics

Nia H. – The College of New Jersey, Computer Engineering

Niharika Shukla – Cornell University, Mechanical Engineering

Patricia Garcia – Florida International University, Interdisciplinary Engineering

Patricia Luc – Columbia University, Computer Science

Pearl C. – University of Arizona, Nutritional Sciences; Doctor of Pharmacy

Prital J. – Rutgers University, Civil Engineering

Raven S. – University of Michigan – Ann Arbor, Chemical Engineering and Environmental Engineering

Riya Patel – The College of New Jersey, Computer Engineering

Rose Arasa – Bryn Mawr College, Computer Science

Ruchi Patel – Cooper Union, Chemical Engineering and St. George’s University, Medical Sciences

Saanika Kulkarni – University of Michigan, Computer Science

Sarah F. – The College of New Jersey, Electrical Engineering

Sarah H. – Cornell University, Information Science

Sharon L. – University of Virginia’s McIntire School of Commerce, Computer Science and Quantitative Finance

Yamilet Perez – University of Dayton, Sustainability and Graphic Design

We selected winners on the basis of the quality of their submission, including a demonstrated commitment to their career dream in tech and a clear vision for how winning the New Face of Tech program will help them further accelerate progress towards their dream.

On behalf of 1,000 Dreams Fund Team, CONGRATULATIONS again to our winners!!

Also a special thank you and shout-out to everyone who applied to the program this year. Their stories and dreams are truly inspiring, and wish everyone the best as they continue to live out their S.T.E.A.M. dreams!