1,000 Dreams Fund Announces 2022 New Face Of Tech Scholarship Winners!

The SIXTH year of our New Face of Tech Scholarship Program — in partnership with tech giant HARMAN — has been so incredible. 

We are always so inspired by everyone who applies and we couldn’t be more thrilled to introduce you to our 25 winners for 2022.

Our New Face of Tech Scholarship Program funds and fuels the aspirations of talented college women who are pursuing degrees in STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts, and math!) and who want to work in tech. 

We’ve awarded our 25 winners with the following:

  • $1,500 scholarship
  • Career coaching sessions with HARMAN executives
  • JBL product

So, with that, please meet our 2022 New Face of Tech winners! Click through on their names to learn more about their inspiring accomplishments thus far — often in the face of adversity — and their mega future dreams.

Alexandria Brady-Miné – University of South Florida, Mechanical Engineering

Ayomide O. – Mississippi Valley State University, Computer Science and Mathematics

Bruna Rocha – University of Michigan, Mechanical Engineering

Catherine Laserna – California State University – Fresno, Computer Science and Business

Charlene de la Paz – Rice University, Mechanical Engineering

Daniela Markazi – University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Informatics 

Diana Garcia – Carnegie Mellon University, Information System Management 

Dominique G. – University of Wisconsin-Madison, Neurobiology and Health Policy

Erika Bowen – University of Georgia, Biomedical Engineering

Faith I. – University of Arkansas at Little Rock, Business Information Systems and Analytics 

Jayda Murray – North Carolina State University, Computer Science with a Game Development Concentration

Jayden Brown – Anderson University, Cybersecurity and Computer Science

Jimmia T. – University of Texas at Austin, Informatics

Kimberly Andres Rivera – Oxford College of Emory University, Computer Science

Maryann Benny Fernandes – Stanford University, Electrical Engineering

Favour Osisioma – University of Tennessee at Martin

Naima Cooper – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Human Development and Family Studies

Neha Malepati – Cornell University, Computer Science

Nhi Tran – Nova Southeastern University, Sociology

Oluwaseun (Shay) Falade – University of Arkansas at Little Rock

Priyanka Benny Fernandes – Johns Hopkins University, Biomedical Engineering

Sarah Brill – Coventry University and Deakin University, Human Factors

Saron G. – George Mason University, College of Engineering and Computing, Computer Science

Saumya Bansal – University of Colorado, Boulder, Computer Science

Skyler Basco – Western Governors University, Computer Science

We selected this group of winners based on the quality of their submission, including a demonstrated commitment to their career dream in tech and a clear vision for how winning the New Face of Tech program will help them further accelerate their progress.

On behalf of the 1,000 Dreams Fund team, a huge congrats again to our New Face of Tech Winners! And thank you to everyone who applied. Your efforts are truly inspirational.